Letter from Australian whose son is in Iraq – We always knew our boys were HEROES!!!

Posted on April 12, 2008. Filed under: Military, Politics |

This is a very touching letter. I’ve always known our military is awesome, but it’s nice to hear it from someone else. Way to go USA!!!!

From an Australian whose son is in Iraq

~~~

Gentlemen

I am an Australian and my son is an Australian – as far as we are concerned there is not place on God’s earth better than Australia, and there are no people better than Australians.

That was until the past week or so.

My son is in the Australian Army and he is currently on deployment in Iraq. I can not go into his duties in great depth, but shall we say that he and his fellow army buddies are on a glorified guard duty looking after the Australian Embassy. They don’t go out looking for “action”, though it is a different story in Afghanistan, there the Aussie troops chase the baddies over the hills and into the valleys..

My son and I just ended a long ‘phone conversation and here are some of his comments, believe me this is what he said. We have all seen the bullshit emails written by some clown in his lounge room pretending to be at the coal face, but this is what was said.:

“Before I came over here I thought we (the Australian Army) were pretty sh-t hot….. was I ever wrong!….The Yanks (I hope you don’t mind me using that word) are so professional from the top to the bottom that it is almost embarrassing to be in their company, and to call yourself a soldier….don’t get me wrong, we are good at what we do but the Yanks are so much better…..they are complete at what they do, how they do it and their attitude is awesome….they don’t complain they just get on with the job and they do it right…..I carry a Minimi (SAW) so I am not real worried about a confrontation but I tell you I feel safer just knowing that the US Army is close by….If we got into trouble I know that our boys would come running and we could deal with it but they would probably be passed by a load of Hummers. No questions asked, no glory sought, the Americans would just fight with us and for us because that is their nature, to protect those in need of protection…..We use the American Mess so you could say that we are fed by the Americans…..they have every right to be pissed at that but they don’t bitch about that they just make us feel as welcome as possible….what gets to me is that the Yanks don’t walk around with a “we are better than you attitude” and they could because they are, they treat us as equals and as brothers in arms. If nothing else, coming here has taught me that the Americans are a truly great Nation and a truly great bunch of people…..Let’s face it they don’t HAVE to be here, they could stay in America and beat the sh-t out of anyone who threatened them, BUT THEY ARE HERE because they believe they should be here, and the Iraqis would be screwed if they weren’t here…..When I come home, you and I we are going to the US, we will buy some bikes and we are going riding….”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

The reason why I am sharing this with you is because I realize that you (as a nation) must get pretty pissed with all the criticism you receive by the so-called “know it alls” who are sitting at home – safe. The reality is that they are safe, just as I am, because of America. If the world went arse up tomorrow there is f**k all we (Australia) could do about it, but I know that the Americans would be there putting themselves on the line for others. That to me is the sign of greatness.

The most precious thing in my life is my son, I look at him and I thank God that I am fortunate enough to be able to spend time in his company. We laugh, we discuss, we argue, we dummy spit, we have the same blood. I am not happy that he is where he is but that is his duty. He joined the Army to protect and to defend, not to play games. I mightn’t like it but I accept it. My reasons for not liking it are selfish and self centered. I felt assured that he would be safe because he is in a well trained army with an excellent record, BUT NOW, I feel a whole lot better knowing that he is with your sons, daughters, brothers and sisters.

Whilst he was growing up. I was always there to look after him, I would not let harm befall him and I would always put myself before him to protect him. I can’t do that now. When it comes to looking after him now he and his mates will do the job, but also THANK GOD FOR AMERICA.

Gentlemen, I have rambled on for too long. but as I finish I say to you, as a foreigner and outsider, a nation is only a collection of its people and its attitude is the attitude of its people, collectively and as individuals. I am really glad you are here on this Earth and I respect you as a nation and as people.

Stand up and feel proud because you deserve it, there is no one else who will do what America does without question. The next time someone howls you down, take some comfort in the fact that America is defending their right to act like an idiot.

Finally, thank you for looking after my son.

Peter Turner

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

14 Responses to “Letter from Australian whose son is in Iraq – We always knew our boys were HEROES!!!”

RSS Feed for Don’t Get Me Started… Comments RSS Feed

I think we treat the Australians in time of war is due, at least in part, to the way we were treated by them during WWII. We had Australians stationed with us in Vienam and they were great people but in Feb., 1942 my father landed in Australia for the build-up. For the rest of his life he spoke about how kind, considerate and friendly the Australian people were toward him and all of the US. servicemen who were there at that time. So maybe his is just one way of saying “Thanks” from the Yanks.

It would be nice if we could edit what we write
before it posts. I could not see half of what
I had typed.

Just about the time you think everybody in the world hates us (America) you get to read something like this. And it doesn`t surprise me that it came from someone in Australia. I`ve been there many times and have several friends there. The Contry IS awesome, like Peter Turner says, and it`s awesome because of it`s people.
They are similar to the average American in that they are genuine, authentic and fair. And when they see a job well done they aren`t afraid to give you a “good on ya mate”. Thank you Peter Turner for reminding us that we (America) can always count on our true friends (Australians) no matter how bad the rest of the world is bashing us.

Thank you Mr. Turner for your very kind and greatly appreciated comments!

Met some of your blokes in Vietnam and Thailand during the late unpleasantness there. Damn good troops. You got the feeling that they would try anything twice. A Texan has a certain justifiable pride in his home state. Your troops have the same pride in Australia. You knew your “six” was covered when they were around. Two nations joined by a common heritage and seperated by a “common” language. You gotta love “Strine” even if you don’t understand it.
From out beyond the black stump:

Paul Garner
Tsgt, USAF (Retired)

PS: Who the bloody hell convinced you blokes that “Advance Australia” is a better national anthem than “Waltzing Matilda”? You can’t march to it, you can’t fight to it and you sure as hell can’t drink beer to it. Some liberal Pommy?

Good on you Mr. Turner. Your comments are much appreciated. I worked for the Australians for many years and made some wonderful friends. I was always treated with respect. My time in Australia was so enjoyable and I rave about it to this day. Your country is truly beautiful as are your people. I don’t believe we Americans look down on you but rather we look up to you. You are our friends in every way.

Dear Mr Turner, thank you so much. It seems to me that whenever a need arises, it’s always America running in to help, either with money ,food,material,or our soldiers blood, and when it’s over, all I read is “AMERICA – GO HOME). Thank you for reinforcing my view of The U.S.A., And God Bless the Aussies!! I can’t think of a time when you weren’t there for or with us.

Mr. Tuner , Thank you, Best of luck to your son, When he comes to the US ,I am sure he will be treated as warmly as I was each of the three times I have been to Australia. Most Americans don’t realize the close ties our two countries have enjoyed. Thanks again for your kind words.

Good on you Peter! As an Aussie who now lives in the US and has joint US-Aussie citizenship, I am so proud of both my countries!

I think we face rough times ahead in Asia and with Islam and with the caving in of so many Europeans. It is good to know there are still two nations who are willing to fight side by side for freedom.

Thank you for this wonderful letter. God bless your son. We will pray for his safe return as we pray for the safety of our soldiers.

Nice letter – but I seriously doubt how authentic it is.
There are several un-Australian terms uses and even US-spelling used.
The context is also inconsistent – “Americans would just fight with us and for us”….For us???
Sorry this letter stinks of fake propoganda and although it no doubt brings a tear to an American patriots heart, its conversely slightly offensive to Aussies because it is so clearly a fake.

BTW just a little more on this (sorry I have taken offence to the letter).
If you don’t think it’s offensive to us Aussies – try swapping each American reference with each Australian reference – and then tell me what you’d think of the letter.
What it effectly says is that Australia adds no valve to the Iraq conflict and should not HELP YOU (we joined you not the other way around ;)) – Is that what you really think of your Australian counterparts?
Hence why I find it offensive.

Mr. Woodley, I really tried to find out if this letter was authentic and could not find any reason to believe it is a hoax. However, I’m not saying that that couldn’t be the case. If it is, then we’ve been had. If not, then it’s a very touching letter. Either way I do believe that we really appreciate the Aussies!!! Hopefully, y’all know that!

It isn’t authentic for a few reasons.
1- American spelling ‘realize’ as opposed to ‘realise’ ‘centered’ as opposed to ‘centred’
2- If its a ‘telephone conversation’ why the heck does it sound like an essay? Read the supposed son’s words. Does that sound like a telephone conversation between a soldier and his dad or a 3 minute monologue on the greatness of the United States of America?
3- Australians don’t say ‘pretty shit hot’, ‘pissed with’ (pissed means drunk Down Under), don’t say ‘was I ever wrong’, ‘army buddies’ would be Army mates

Australians also don’t tend to start a letter with a long patriotic spiel about how ‘I thought there are no better people than Australians’ and Australians don’t ‘thank God’ and ‘God Bless You’ It just isn’t written in with Australian vernacular.

I think anonymous is right
all American spelling
all American Punctuation

Why the fuck would a son tell his father on the phone about all this shit when you only have like 10 minutes to speak and the last thing you’d want to discuss is how great America is.

theres no evidence claiming this to be Authentic but theres a lot of proof that some yank wrote it and its therefore fake.

Australians soldiers have never stated the Americans are better EVER they usually say that the only ones that might be better then the aussies in the brits


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...