Dr. Ergun Caner DID NOT Endorse the ‘Evangelical Manifesto’

Posted on May 21, 2008. Filed under: Conservatives, Religion |

Dr. Ergun Caner DID NOT Endorse the “Evangelical Manifesto”

I was so glad to hear this. I was surprised and disturbed when I first read that Dr. Ergun Caner (of Liberty University) endorsed the “Evangelical Manifesto”. It just didn’t seem right to me, and now I know why…because he DID NOT endorse it. He has a much better way with words than I do (no surprise there), so I’ve included some of his statement as to why he did not endorse it. I totally agree with his take on it. Thank you, Dr. Caner, for clearing that up!!

By the way, every once in a while I’ll doubt myself, and this was one of those times. I respect Dr. Caner and his views, and when I saw his name on the list I thought, “Am I crazy? Did I read too much into this?”  But after reading it again I still couldn’t get behind it, but was still bothered that he could.  And now I see that my instincts were right and he did not sign it. Part of his statement is below:

“[R]eading the document sounds like an extended apology, and I do not apologize for the stance we have taken for decades: evangelicals are unapologetically and unabashedly pro-life, pro-marriage, and pro-prayer,” Caner writes. And when it comes to standing for truth and righteousness in the political realm, he states: “Popularity is not the goal of an evangelical; converted souls in heaven are the ultimate goal. You do not change a culture by surrender. This is precisely what the [Manifesto] seems to do.”

Here’s a link to the entire article: http://www.onenewsnow.com/Church/Default.aspx?id=118542

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

