Honor the Troops on Memorial Day

Posted on May 20, 2008. Filed under: General, Military, Religion |

Memorial Day is coming this weekend and I sincerely hope people are grateful and thankful for what our military men and women have done for us. I am DISGUSTED by the folks who are speaking out against our military on this day instead of honoring them. In my opinion these people are spoiled and ungrateful. There are actually some ‘progressive’ Christian groups and churches who are doing this and I am so disheartened by it that it honestly makes my stomach sick. I actually think it’s a very UN-Christian thing to do and I’m sure our military would be hurt by it, but apparently these folks’ love and compassion doesn’t extend to our troops. For more of my thoughts on this, check out my previous post on the Waning Patriotism of Some Christians…

LINK:  https://bridgetdgms.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/the-waning-patriotism-of-some-christians/ 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Honor the Troops on Memorial Day”

RSS Feed for Don’t Get Me Started… Comments RSS Feed

Bridget, I understand your point on fighting evil. It makes sense. Unfortunately most of what Jesus said and did does not make sense. His teachings were in complete opposition to the times in which he lived. The Israelites were ruled by a foreign, oppressive, and evil power, the Roman Empire. But The Messiah did nothing to fight or resist that power. Our times are no different. Evil exists. But we as followers of Christ are called to love our enemies and to turn the other cheek. Our instinct is to fight evil, but unfortunately Jesus doesn’t call us to follow our instincts but rather to follow him.

Sorry, but I disagree with you on that. There were plenty of times in the Bible where God commanded people to fight against evil and had men of God lead them into battle. I guess we’re just going to have to agree to disagree. But thanks for the comments and for coming by my site.

Sorry James, but Christ NEVER preached an absolute pacifism. It’s just not there my friend.

Jesus taught a new way. His teachings ushered in a new kingdom of God. But I don’t fully understand these teachings and I am always learning more. Please help me. Show me where Jesus advocated war.

James, go read this thread. I’ve already been all over this and don’t feel like rehashing.
http://onbeautysroad.wordpress.com/2008/03/02/the-cross-and-violence/
Oh…and there is a HUGE difference between advocating for war and being a pacifist.

James, I just posted what I think is a Biblical perspective on war. Go check it out.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

