My Personal Thanks to our Military

Posted on February 9, 2008. Filed under: Heroes, Military |

I wrote the following letter to our military several years ago because I really wanted them to know how much I appreciate them. I keep copies of this letter in my purse at all times in case I see a military person, and if  I do, I give them a copy and say thanks! I wish I could give a copy to every single one of our US military people, but I’ll just have to do my small part and give it to the ones I see or meet. This probably makes me an overly emotional, sentimental, patriotic geek, but so be it. I appreciate our military and I will tell them every chance I get!

Dear Military Men and Women,

I am in AWE of the sacrifice that you choose to make for our country.

I am INDEBTED to your families who allow you to serve us even when it means time away from them, constant fear and worry, and maybe even giving your life.

I am GRATEFUL that there are heroic people like you who are willing to fight to keep us free. True heroes are few and far between these days.

I am APPRECIATIVE that brave men and women will risk their own lives to keep us safe.

I am AMAZED at the discipline and self-control that you have developed in order to be the best soldier you can be.

I am PROUD when I see you – whether it be on the street or on TV – because I know we are in such capable hands.

I am CONFIDENT that we have the best military in the world. I will always trust you to defend us, and I in turn will always defend you.

I am HUMBLED when I remember that you do these things for me – a person whom you don’t even know.

I am HEARTBROKEN when one of you is wounded or killed in battle – your ultimate sacrifice should never be forgotten. Even one lost soldier is too many.

I am OUTRAGED when I see and hear protestors speak out against you – they are uninformed cowards who only have that right because you fight for it.

I am TOUCHED that even in the heat of battle, your compassion shines through. You are a warrior fighting for a just cause, but you have a tender heart that reaches out to your fellow soldiers and the innocent civilians who get caught in the middle.

I am IMPRESSED by your courage, strength and skill. You are the true heroes and role models for our children.

I am INSPIRED by your selflessness. We remain free because you are willing to fight for it.

I am CONVINCED that we will go down in history as a GREAT generation because of you.

Whether you be on the battlefield in a foreign land or here at home holding down the fort, you are what stands between us and evil, and you are my heroes!!

I PRAY for you and your families every single day – May God keep you safe.

Words are not adequate to express my true feelings, but…
THANK YOU

Bridget

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “My Personal Thanks to our Military”

RSS Feed for Don’t Get Me Started… Comments RSS Feed

hello bridgette….hope to get to know you more…xx


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

